[]
[]
All CRRL branches will be closed for staff development on Friday, September 19. Never fear! You can still access our catalogeBooks, and research tools.

Carter Beats the Devil

A Novel
Gold, Glen David (Book - 2001 )
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
Carter Beats the Devil
Print

Item Details

An amazing, richly evocative novel of magic and history in the tradition of E. L. Doctorow and Caleb Carr.America in the 1920s was a nation obsessed with magic. Not just the kind performed in theaters and on stages across the country, but the magic of technology, science, and prosperity. Enter Charles Carter -- a.k.a. Carter the Great -- a young master performer whose skill as an illusionist exceeds even that of the great Houdini. Fueled by a passion for magic that grew out of desperation and loneliness, Carter has become a legend in his own time. His thrilling act involves outrageous stunts carried out on elaborate sets before the most demanding audiences. But the most outrageous stunt of all stars none other than President Warren Harding and ends up nearly costing Carter the reputation he worked so hard to create. Filled with historical references that evoke the excesses and enthusiasm of postwar, pre-Depression America, Carter Beats the Devil is the complex and illuminating story of one man's journey through a magical -- and sometimes dangerous -- world, where illusion is everything, and everything is illusory.
Authors: Gold, Glen David, 1964-
Title: Carter beats the Devil
a novel
Publisher: New York : Hyperion, c2001
Edition: 1st ed
Characteristics: 483 p. : ill. (chiefly col.) ; 25 cm
ISBN: 0786867345
Branch Call Number: FICTION Gol
Statement of Responsibility: Glen David Gold
Subject Headings: Biographical fiction Magicians Fiction Presidents Fiction Harding, Warren G. (Warren Gamaliel), 1865-1923 Fiction Carter, Charles J. Fiction
Genre/Form: Historical fiction
Topical Term: Biographical fiction
Magicians
Presidents
LCCN: 2001016910
MARC Display»

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Feb 21, 2013
  • hippo12 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Period detail and magicians brought wonderfully to life.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app11 Version sidamo (sidamo) Last updated 2014/09/15 11:31