[]
[]

Another Place at the Table

A Story of Shattered Childhoods Redeemed by Love
Harrison, Kathy (Book - 2003 )
Average Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.
Another Place at the Table
Print

Item Details

For more than a decade, Kathy Harrison has sheltered a shifting cast of troubled youngsters-the offspring of prostitutes and addicts; the sons and daughters of abusers; and teenage parents who can't handle parenthood. What would motivate someone to give herself over to constant, largely uncompensated chaos? How does she manage her extraordinary blended family? Why would anyone voluntarily take on her job? Harrison is no saint, but an ordinary woman doing heroic work. In Another Place at the Table, she describes her life at our social services' front lines-centered around three children who, when they come together in her home, nearly destroy it. Danny, age eight, is borderline mentally retarded and a budding pedophile (a frequent result of sexual abuse in boys). No other family will take him in. Tough, magnetic Sara, age six, is dangerously promiscuous (a typical manifestation of abuse in girls). Karen, six months, shares Danny's legal advocate, who must represent the interests of both. All three living under the same roof will lead to an inevitable explosion-but for each, Harrison's care offers the greatest hope of a reinvented childhood. For readers of The Lost Children of Wilder, Expecting Adam, and Somebody Else's Kids, this is the first-person story of a woman whose compassionate best intentions for a child are sometimes all that stand between violence and redemption.
Authors: Harrison, Kathy
Title: Another place at the table
a story of shattered childhoods redeemed by love
Publisher: New York : Jeremy P. Tarcher/Putnam, c2003
Characteristics: 224 p. ; 22 cm
ISBN: 1585422002
Branch Call Number: 362.733 Ha
Statement of Responsibility: Kathy Harrison
Subject Headings: Foster children Biography Foster mothers Biography Foster home care Harrison, Kathy
Topical Term: Foster children
Foster mothers
Foster home care
LCCN: 2002028707
MARC Display»

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf

Subject Headings


LibraryThing Series Information


  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
Version pocillo (pocillo) Last updated 2014/08/21 13:32