[]
[]

Arabian Sands

Thesiger, Wilfred (Book - 2007 )
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
Arabian Sands
Print

Series that include this title


Item Details

In the spirit of T.E. Lawrence, Wilfred Thesiger spent five years wandering the deserts of Arabia, producing Arabian Sands, 'a memorial to a vanished past, a tribute to a once magnificent people'. The Penguin Classics edition includes an introduction by Rory Stewart. Wilfred Thesiger, repulsed by what he saw as the softness and rigidity of Western life - 'the machines, the calling cards, the meticulously aligned streets' - spent years exploring in and around the vast, waterless desert that is the 'Empty Quarter' of Arabia. Travelling amongst the Bedu people, he experienced their everyday challenges of hunger and thirst, the trials of long marches beneath the relentless sun, the bitterly cold nights and the constant danger of death if it was discovered he was a Christian 'infidel'. He was the first European to visit most of the region, and just before he left the area the process that would change it forever had begun - the discovery of oil. This edition contains an introduction by Rory Stewart discussing the dangers of Thesiger's travels, his unconventional personality and his insights into the Bedouin way of life. Sir Wilfred Patrick Thesiger (1910-2003) was a British travel writer born in Addis Ababa in Abyssinia (now Ethiopia). Thesiger is best known for two travel books: Arabian Sands (1959), which recounts his travels in the Empty Quarter of Arabia between 1945 and 1950 and describes the vanishing way of life of the Bedouins, and The Marsh Arabs (1964), an account of the traditional peoples who lived in the marshlands of southern Iraq. If you enjoyed Arabian Sands, you might like T.E. Lawrence's Seven Pillars of Wisdom, also available in Penguin Modern Classics 'Thesiger is perhaps the last, and certainly one of the greatest, of the British travellers among the Arabs'Sunday Times 'Following worthily in the tradition of Burton, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, it is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia'Daily Telegraph
Authors: Thesiger, Wilfred, 1910-2003
Title: Arabian sands
Publisher: London : Penguin, 2007
Edition: New ed.
Characteristics: xvii, 347 p., [16] p. of plates : ill., maps, ports. ; 20 cm
Notes: Includes index
Contents: Introduction / Rory Stewart
List of maps
Preface
Preface to the 1991 reprint
Foreword
Prologue
1. Abyssinia and the Sudan
2. Prelude in Dhaufar
3. The sands of Ghanim
4. Secret preparations at Salala
5. The approach to the empty quarter
6. On the edge of the empty quarter
7. The first crossing of the empty quarter
8. Return to Salala
9. From Salala to Mukalla
10. Preparations for a second crossing
11. The second crossing of the empty quarter
12. From Sulaiyil to Abu Dhabi
13. The Trucial coast
14. A holiday in Buraimi
15. The quicksands of Umm al Samim
16. The Wahiba sands
17. The closing door
Arabic and botanical names of plants mentioned in the book
A list of the chief characters on the various journeys
Index
ISBN: 9780141442075
0141442077
Branch Call Number: 915.30452 Th
Statement of Responsibility: Wilfred Thesiger
Subject Headings: Arabian Peninsula Description and travel Bedouins Thesiger, Wilfred, 1910-2003 Homes and haunts Arabian Peninsula
Topical Term: Bedouins
MARC Display»

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
Version pocillo (pocillo) Last updated 2014/08/21 13:32