[]
[]
Now you can request and check out OverDrive eBooks and eAudio directly from the catalog! These checkouts will also be visible in your "Checked Out" and "Holds" lists. 
Single-click holds available! This feature allows you to place holds without having to confirm your pickup location each time.  Opt in by going to your holds page and click "turn on" at the top of the page.

The Rose Garden

Kearsley, Susanna (Book - 2011 )
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
The Rose Garden


Item Details

When Eva Ward moves to an old house on the Cornish coast, she discovers hidden pathways, mysterious voices, and ghosts of the past.
Authors: Kearsley, Susanna, 1966-
Title: The rose garden
Publisher: Naperville, Ill. :, Sourcebooks Landmark,, c2011
Characteristics: 441 p. ;,21 cm
Summary: When Eva Ward moves to an old house on the Cornish coast, she discovers hidden pathways, mysterious voices, and ghosts of the past.
ISBN: 1402258585
9781402258589
Branch Call Number: FICTION Kea
More » MARC Display»

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Report This Apr 15, 2014
  • Sansha rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

I really enjoyed this book. Set in contemporary Cornwall, Eva the main character, is grieving for her sister and so returns to the home of their childhood holidays. Eva finds herself travelling backwards and forwards to the days of smugglers in the Cornwall village. Mystery, intrigue and romance make up this enjoyable read.

Report This Dec 07, 2013
  • Sarah17 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

I thought about this book so much after I finished it. The ending was one of those ones you read and re-read to get the most of it.

Report This Oct 23, 2013
  • AuntCarolyn rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

I have loved all of her books. This one doesn't disappoint.

Report This Jun 12, 2013
  • annem123 rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

I just discovered Susanna Kearsley and am reading many of her books. This is a wonderful time-travel book with a good plot and realistic characters. What I loved about this book is how Kearsley lets us know her characters, albeit at leisurely pace. I loved how the time travel 'happened' and how the romance began. I'm finding with Kearsley books is that they are truly journeys the heroine takes and as readers we get to tag along.

Report This Jan 14, 2013
  • soblessed59 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Wasn't sure if I would like a 'time-travel' romance,but it was wonderful! I was really taken by surprise by just how captivating Rose Garden by Susanna Kearsley was to read. Hadn't ever read a book like this,but she is a wonderfully skilled author.I was absolutely drawn into the scenes as though I was the character of Eva,and she brought the scenes alive. The character development was really amazing,and they felt like part of my social circle. I read my library's copy on my Kindle and am now waiting to read the library copy of Shadowy Horses on my Kindle by this author.I just have to read some more of her work.It was such an enjoyable read.

Report This Oct 31, 2012
  • emerald2pac rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Amazing read loved all the twists it kept me intrigued the whole way through. This author is a keeper for sure. Now excuse me while I go devour more of her books.

Report This Oct 14, 2012
  • dijolly rated this: 2.5 stars out of 5.

If youre looking for a fluffy, romantic time travel story this is your book. Not quite enough meat to it for me.

Report This Jun 06, 2012
  • kathrynhodgson rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

This book starts off slowly but it grows. It was quite enjoyable.

Report This May 01, 2012
  • melwyk rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

If you are already a fan of Susanna Kearsley you are going to love this one. If you aren't yet, read this and you will be! The writing is wonderful, warm and inviting and the romance is nicely set up. Supporting characters all get their time on stage and their own romances, and there are no anachronisms in the plotline -- Kearsley carefully discusses the issues of whether past actions by Eva are able to change her present. I really, really enjoyed this fun read and only regret that I can read so much faster than she can write ;) In a blurb on the book, the Toronto Star is quoted as saying "Kearsley may be Canada's best practitioner of the genre." I disagree. There is no "may" about it. She IS the best, and has just proved it once again.

Report This Aug 11, 2011
  • mayfairlady rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

Enjoyable, light summer read.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

Report This Jun 06, 2011
  • AnneDromeda rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

<p>Fans of Ontario author Susanna Kearsley will be pleased to hear she is back; and her new novel, *The Rose Garden*, is built from the same elements that made *Marianna* and *The Winter Sea* impossible to put down. For those unfamiliar with her work, Kearsley's made a name for herself penning tales of romantic suspense featuring appeal factors like time travel, flawlessly researched Celtic culture and landscapes, and warm, likeable characters. She has a knack for building steamy, suspenseful tension into book you can lend your grandmother without blushing, and as far as I'm concerned that is a serious skill. Indeed, most of Kearsley's books could be considered a slightly cleaned-up, faster-paced readalike for Diana Gabaldon's *Outlander* series, and make an excellent next read when you've run out of books featuring the masculinely divine Jamie Fraser. Her latest outing, The Rose Garden, is no exception.</p> <p>After the death of her film star sister, Hollywood PR agent Eva finds herself making the journey from California to the home of Mark and Susan, close family friends in Cornwall. At a loss for what to do without her sister, she decides to end her Hollywood career and put her skills to work saving Trelowarth - the manor that is home to Mark and Susan - from financial ruin. Throughout the novel, Kearsley sustains an atmosphere of the lush, natural mystery of the Cornish landscape, to the degree that Trelowarth becomes a full presence and character within the story. With the aid of friends from the neighbouring village, Susan plans to open a tea room at Trelowarth, and Eva will build the website and look after drawing in the crowds.</p> <p>In the meantime, however, Eva begins suffering what appear to be hallucinations. Initially, she blames her sleeping pills and grief for the excursions back in time to when Trelowarth was smuggling hub during the Jacobite Rebellions. But when one hallucination abates, leaving her standing in the 21st century wearing clothes she's been loaned in the 1700s by an intense, handsome (and ostensibly imaginary) smuggler named Daniel, she's forced to re-evaluate.</p> <p>With help from local folktales, Eva begins to reason out what is happening to her on her journeys back in time. Reason, however, doesn't help her stay detached on these journeys - her undeniable connection with Daniel has drawn her into the intrigue of his smuggling and activities within the Jacobite uprisings. Worse, local law enforcement have noted Daniel's attachment to Eva, and want to make her a pawn in their plans. Kearsley skillfully builds tension between the two times, and the reader is hard pressed to put down the book before discovering whether Eva can master her time shifting before someone gets caught or killed. Perfect for the beach or cottage, *The Rose Garden* is an enchanting journey you'll want to share.</p>

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf

Subject Headings


LibraryThing Series Information


  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.