[]
[]
Now you can request and check out OverDrive eBooks and eAudio directly from the catalog! These checkouts will also be visible in your "Checked Out" and "Holds" lists. 
Single-click holds available! This feature allows you to place holds without having to confirm your pickup location each time.  Opt in by going to your holds page and click "turn on" at the top of the page.

Shadow and Bone

Bardugo, Leigh (Book - 2012 )
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
Shadow and Bone


Item Details

Orphaned by the Border Wars, Alina Starkov is taken from obscurity and her only friend, Mal, to become the protegé of the mysterious Darkling, who trains her to join the magical elite in the belief that she is the Sun Summoner, who can destroy the monsters of the Fold.
Authors: Bardugo, Leigh
Title: Shadow and bone
Publisher: New York :, Henry Holt,, 2012
Edition: 1st ed
Characteristics: 358 p. :,map ;,22 cm
Summary: Orphaned by the Border Wars, Alina Starkov is taken from obscurity and her only friend, Mal, to become the protegé of the mysterious Darkling, who trains her to join the magical elite in the belief that she is the Sun Summoner, who can destroy the monsters of the Fold.
ISBN: 0805094598
9780805094596
Branch Call Number: FICTION Bar
More » MARC Display»

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Report This Apr 14, 2014
  • KateHillier rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

I really enjoyed this. It is guilty of following a very familiar formula (girl has special powers that suddenly manifest, girl is part of a love/lust triangle, girl is out to save the world) but it was still really interesting. Probably because the author has chosen to base her world on Russian culture. I'm not sure how accurate it is but it's a breath of fresh air. What it great here is the amount of intrigue and deception. At the core of the story here is a girl who has been nothing, or at least think she has been, for so long being shown attention. She's delighted and happy but she also sees the ugly side of being this important and this 'special.' Anyone who has had to deal with the in crowd at school will see many similar behaviours here. Lots of mean girls to be had here. Everyone has their own agenda and Alina is mostly alright being swept along with it until a certain point. I'm curious to see what the rest of the series will bring. If you enjoyed "Divergent" and "The Hunger Games", I'd give this one a shot.

Report This Feb 17, 2014
  • JCLJoshN rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

A fast-paced, imaginative adventure with cool magic/weird science, engaging characters, great plot twists, and a good dose of Russian crankiness. Excited to read the next book!

Report This Aug 25, 2013
  • emilyswartzer rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Alina Starkov is an orphan from The Border War. One day,she exhibits a power she did not know of. The Darklings take her to the King. She has no idea if her new found power will go off or not. Alina does not want an angry King. She is taken by Genya to her training , combative and her Grisha powers that she doesn't know how to use. Alina lives in the palace and eats pickled herring for breakfast because they have to live a "peasant" lifestyle in the palace. She learns that she is the Darkling's favorite, but when Baghra reveals who the Darkling is, she must leave and never come back. Alina leaves while a party is in session, but Mal finds her. Except he doesn't bring her back to the palace, he hides her. Together, they conclude that they must reach Morozova's stag before the Darkling. If he reaches it first, it could mean disaster. I highly recommend this book.

Report This Aug 01, 2013
  • BobbyDolph rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

LOVED IT. Can't wait to read siege and storm and read the next step to the story!

Report This Jul 28, 2013
  • sportsbookspce rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Amazing book! I couldn't put it down. There were many surprises. The characters were very well written. I can't wait until the next book!

Report This Jul 20, 2013
  • rakusa88 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

An exciting novel of the coming-of-age-magic-fantasy genre. Fans of Tamora Pierce and Christopher Paolini will find a lot of familiar aspects in the overall storyline (Song of the Lioness Quartet, Inheritance Cycle). Yet, there were also original elements worth celebrating. The story was riveting but easy to read, which was impressive considering the staging and language that fantasy realms typically entail. I'm happy to see that good young adult fantasy series are continuing to be produced and am definitely looking forward to the next instalment.

This was so amazingly wonderful! The setting, while another universe, does have a czarist Russian feel combined with a very rich fantasy world. The descriptions are detailed and the characters are vulnerable and human. I cannot wait for the rest of the trilogy to come out!

Report This Jul 04, 2013
  • izzyb14 rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

Hmm, loved the first half of the book, but then the plot took a few twists that I was disappointed with. Overall, a good book but the characters were not as captivating as I would have liked.

Report This Jun 22, 2013
  • blue_jaguar_257 rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

this authour has a verry spectacular mind

Report This Jan 14, 2013
  • animalgirl314 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Words can not describe how amazing this book is. I had a hard time putting it down and I was sad when the book came to an end because it was so good.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

Report This Dec 24, 2013
  • humptydumtywaspushed rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

humptydumtywaspushed thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

bgs2001 thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

panda88 thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

Report This Jun 14, 2013
  • rima_gabrielle rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

rima_gabrielle thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Report This Jan 20, 2013
  • violet_hamster_224 rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

violet_hamster_224 thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

Report This Aug 06, 2012
  • Hufflegirl rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Hufflegirl thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Report This Jul 17, 2012
  • pineapplemango rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

pineapplemango thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

Report This Jul 17, 2012
  • pineapplemango rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

“I missed you every hour. And you know what the worst part was? It caught me completely by surprise. I'd catch myself just walking around to find you, not for any reason , just out of habit, because I'd seen something that I wanted to tell you about or because I wanted to hear your voice. And then I'd realize that you weren't there anymore, and every time, every single time, it was like having the wind knocked out of me. I've risked my life for you. I've walked half the length of Ravka for you, and I'd do it again and again and again just to be with you, just to starve with you and freeze with you and hear you complain about hard cheese every day. So don't tell me why we don't belong together," he said fiercely.”

Report This Jul 17, 2012
  • pineapplemango rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

“How did you fare with the Queen?" he asked. "I have no idea," I said honestly. "Everything she said was perfectly nice, but the whole time she was looking at me as if I were something her dog spit up.”

Report This Jul 17, 2012
  • pineapplemango rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

“I had spared the stag's life. The power of that life belonged to me as surely as it belonged to the man who had taken it.”

Videos

Add a Video

Shadow and Bone

Trailer for Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf

Browse the shelf is not available for this title.


Subject Headings


LibraryThing Series Information


  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.