[]
[]

The Year Without Summer

1816 and the Volcano That Darkened the World and Changed History
Klingaman, William K. (Book - 2013)
Average Rating: 2 stars out of 5.
The Year Without Summer
Print

Item Details

In the tradition of Krakatoa, The World Without Us, and Guns, Germs and Steel comes a sweeping history of the year that became known as 18-hundred-and-froze-to-death. 1816 was a remarkable year, mostly for the fact that there was no summer. As a result of a volcanic eruption in Indonesia, weather patterns were disrupted worldwide for months, allowing for excessive rain, frost, and snowfall through much of the Northeastern U.S. and Europe in the summer of 1816. The Year Without Summer examines not only the climate change engendered by this event, but also its effects on politics, the economy, the arts, and social structures.
Authors: Klingaman, William K.
Title: The year without summer
1816 and the volcano that darkened the world and changed history
Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Press, 2013
Edition: 1st ed
Characteristics: 338 p. ; 25 cm
Summary: In the tradition of Krakatoa, The World Without Us, and Guns, Germs and Steel comes a sweeping history of the year that became known as 18-hundred-and-froze-to-death. 1816 was a remarkable year, mostly for the fact that there was no summer. As a result of a volcanic eruption in Indonesia, weather patterns were disrupted worldwide for months, allowing for excessive rain, frost, and snowfall through much of the Northeastern U.S. and Europe in the summer of 1816. The Year Without Summer examines not only the climate change engendered by this event, but also its effects on politics, the economy, the arts, and social structures.
Additional Contributors: Klingaman, Nicholas P.
ISBN: 031267645X
9780312676452
Branch Call Number: 551.2 Kl
Statement of Responsibility: William K. Klingaman and Nicholas P. Klingaman
Bibliography: Includes bibliographical references (p. [311]-323) and index
Subject Headings: Tambora, Mount (Indonesia) Eruption, 1815 Weather Effect of volcanic eruptions on Volcanoes Indonesia Sumbawa Island History 19th century
Topical Term: Weather
Volcanoes
LCCN: 2012047552
MARC Display»

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

I agree entirely with the previous review. A very good start but becomes very dull after that. For a book with a strong geographical basis there is not one map or diagram in the book. A map may have helped one reviewer quoted on the cover who placed Indonesia in the Pacific Ocean. Disappointing.

Mar 22, 2014
  • dionyzus rated this: 1 stars out of 5.

Sorry, but this is pretty boring. Not recommended unless you have a serious historical interest in this time period. The first chapter is good and discusses the eruption of Tambora in Indonesia, and how the ash from the eruption eventually blocked sunlight and cooled global temperatures in 1816. However the rest of the book is a series of dry facts about rainfall, temperatures and harvests in the U.S. and Europe in 1816. It's like reading a Farmer's Almanac. A few historical figures are discussed from Napoleon to Lord Byron, but again it's not compelling to read. If you want a better book about a volcanic eruption in the 1800's, I would recommend Krakatoa: The Day the World Exploded by Simon Winchester.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app04 Version Arkelstorp Last updated 2014/10/22 16:24