[]
[]
Now you can request and check out OverDrive eBooks and eAudio directly from the catalog! These checkouts will also be visible in your "Checked Out" and "Holds" lists. 
Single-click holds available! This feature allows you to place holds without having to confirm your pickup location each time.  Opt in by going to your holds page and click "turn on" at the top of the page.

The Interestings

Wolitzer, Meg (Book - 2013 )
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
The Interestings


Item Details

Forging a powerful bond in the mid-1970s that lasts throughout subsequent decades, six individuals pursue challenges into their midlife years, including an aspiring actress who harbors jealousy toward friends who achieve successful creative careers.
Authors: Wolitzer, Meg
Title: The Interestings
Publisher: New York :, Riverhead Books,, 2013
Characteristics: 468 p. ;,24 cm
Summary: Forging a powerful bond in the mid-1970s that lasts throughout subsequent decades, six individuals pursue challenges into their midlife years, including an aspiring actress who harbors jealousy toward friends who achieve successful creative careers.
ISBN: 1594488398
9781594488399
Branch Call Number: FICTION Wol
More » MARC Display»

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Report This Mar 30, 2014
  • KateHillier rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Julie Jacobson goes to an arts camp when she's fifteen in the summer of 1974. She becomes Jules Jacobson and gains a new group of friends. They jokingly refer to themselves as "The Interestings." This books covers the stories of their lives and friendship from their teenage years to their middle age. The plot wanders a bit at points, admittedly to a point where I'd get a little frustrated, but it always pulls you back as you see something that you know too well from your own group of friends or just from yourself. There are big events, there are little events, there are falling outs, there are major and minor tragedies and achievements. You hate and like everyone at different points for different reasons and a big focus of the novel is of Jules' envy that two of her friends made it in their chosen art while everyone else couldn't for various reasons. I had my moments with this book but I came out really enjoying it and, surprisingly, wishing to know what awaits the group in their later years. If you're looking to get comfortable with a group of friends and watch their lives unfold, and are ready for a long haul, this is the book for you.

Report This Mar 02, 2014
  • TracyGuza rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

This novel which tracks the activities of teenagers at camp in the 1970's through the present deals brilliantly with divisions between the super rich and entitled and the regular middle class. Set in upstate New York and Manhattan, the book seamlessly switches between past and present, intertwining characters stories. The Interestings was interesting indeed. I felt affinity for all the characters and situations. And, as a fan of New York at any point in time, the city provides a fantastic backdrop for the drama.

Report This Feb 16, 2014
  • bigoz123 rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Entertaining Book.

Report This Feb 10, 2014
  • ehbooklover rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

This book begins when six teens meet at art camp in the 1970s and christen themselves “The Interestings”. It then follows their evolving relationships until the present time. While the characters are not always likable, they are complicated, relatable and realistic. The book also examines the corrosiveness of envy and touches on many serious themes including rape, depression, autism, and AIDS. Not a light read, but definitely an interesting and worthwhile one.

very disappointing. could not get into this book. wanted to smack the characters.

Report This Dec 16, 2013
  • CPL_Laura rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Wolitzer beautifully captures the personalities of several ambitious, artsy teens as well as the often wistful, sometimes disappointed adults they become. I absolutely adored this book. Would likely appeal to fans of Gail Godwin, Anne Tyler, and Adam Langer.

EW top 10 non-fiction of 2013 and gay book club

Report This Dec 15, 2013
  • jtkretzschmar rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

This book was rated fairly lowly which I found surprising because so many people read it this year. My feelings towards the novel was that it has an amazing story, it was well-written and hard to put down, but the characters in the novel drove me crazy. I found them all to be self-absorbed and unrelatable . Regardless, I am giving this novel 5 stars because it really was an excellent read.

Report This Dec 01, 2013
  • Lauren31 rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Some of the characters were a bit insufferable at times (JULES) - I found myself getting very angry with her and her selfish decisions in parts. Overall though, an enjoyable read.

Report This Nov 28, 2013
  • newjessie rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Great read which deals with the big life questions. What happens when a woman constantly, over many years, compares her life to those of her friends? The themes that stood out for me were along the lines of individual life purposes, values, and how we all, with differing talents and needs, carve out a meaningful and valuable life for ourselves. I was very involved with the characters and really wanted to know what was going to happen.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

Report This Nov 26, 2013
  • stephaniedchase rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Meg Wolitzer & Delia Ephron at the New York Society Library

Meg Wolitzer and Delia Ephron in conversation about Wolitzer's THE INTERESTINGS.

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf

Subject Headings


LibraryThing Series Information


  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.