The Rice Mother

The Rice Mother

Book - 2003
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
Nothing in Lakshmi's childhood, running carefree and barefoot on the sun-baked earth amid the coconut and mango trees of Ceylon, could have prepared her for what life was to bring her. At fourteen, she finds herself traded in marriage across the ocean to a stranger in the fascinating land of Malaysia. Duped into thinking her new husband is wealthy, she instead finds herself struggling to raise a family with a man too impractical to face reality and a world that is, by turns, unyielding and amazing, brutal and beautiful. Undaunted, she becomes a formidable matriarch, determined to wrest from the world a better life for her daughters and sons and to face every new challenge with almost mythic strength. A multigenerational narrative that spans the nightmare of World War II and the Japanese occupation, The Rice Mothergorgeously evokes a world of exotic beauty and vivid characters, where small pleasures offset unimaginable horrors. It is a powerful story of laughter and loss, love and betrayal, in a world where ghosts and gods walk hand-in-hand. Perfect for readers of Amy Tan, Isabel Allende, and Arundhati Roy, The Rice Mothermarks the luminous debut of a writer whose universal themes will touch readers, especially women, the world over.
Publisher: New York : Viking, 2003
Edition: First American edition
ISBN: 9780670031924
0670031925
Branch Call Number: FICTION Man
Description: 432 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
BeverlyFRyan54
Feb 20, 2017

Loved the story of the Rice Mother........superbly written and definitely a page turner! I highly recommend it and wish this author had written more......I'm looking???? Waiting??

e
Eil_1
Mar 15, 2012

An excellent book (from my perspective a little less so than "The Japanese Lover". The story of a family led by the strong and determined mother. Takes place in Malaysia prior to the Japanese invasion and continues on to the present day. The tragic death of one of her first-born twins begins the downward spiral of her family.
I definitely recommend it!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

LibraryThing Series Information


  Loading...

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top