Taran Wanderer

Taran Wanderer

Paperback - 2006
Average Rating:
Rate this:

Taran Wanderer , the fourth book in Lloyd Alexander's The Chronicles of Prydain

Taran is an Assistant Pig-Keeper no longer--he has become a hero. Now he dreams of winning the hand of Princess Eilonwy, but how can someone who has spent his whole life caring for a pig hope to marry royalty? Taran must find out who he really is. Eager to learn his origins and hoping to discover noble roots, Taran sets off with the faithful Gurgi.

The journey takes the companions to the three witches in the Marshes of Morva and through the many realms of Prydain. At last they reach the mystical Mirror of Llunet, which reveals a person's true identity. Yet Taran may not be ready to face the truth. . . .

Includes a new pronunciation guide.

Publisher: New York : Henry Holt & Co., 2006
ISBN: 9780805080513


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Jul 17, 2014

Taran grows up a lot in this book and it's interesting because he travels all over Prydain. However, I missed Eilonwy.

Apr 22, 2013

Fourth in the series and my personal favorite. This is a story of Identity. Taran goes on a personal quest to find out the truth of his birth. Who are his parents? What happened to them? And the most important question of all, "Who am I, then?" The concepts here are deep without being too complex. A real coming of age story.

Dec 06, 2012

Lloyd Alexander's Chronicles of Prydain are timeless classic fantasy books. I've read all five books about five times, I just couldn't get enough of it. Taran Wanderer is my favourite of the five. I definitely recommend the Chronicles of Prydain to anyone who is fond of fantasy.


Add a Quote

Oct 28, 2016

"I've heard men complain of doing woman's work, and woman complain of doing men's work, but i've never heard the WORK complain of who did it, so long as it got done!"

Oct 28, 2016

"Secret?" replied Llonio " have you not already guessed? Why my luck's no greater than yours or any man's. You need only sharpen your eyes to see your luck when it comes, and sharpen your wits to use what falls into your hands."


Add Age Suitability

whiteshadow13 Mar 22, 2012

whiteshadow13 thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over


Add a Summary

whiteshadow13 Jan 29, 2012

The fourth book of the Prydain cycle tells of the adventures that befell Taran when he went in search of his birthright and discovered the truth about himself.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further


LibraryThing Series Information


Find it at CRRL

To Top