The Queen of Palmyra

The Queen of Palmyra

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
"An atmospheric debut novel about growing up in the changing South in 1960s Mississippi in the tradition of The Secret Life of Bees and The Help"--Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Harper Perennial, 2010
Edition: First Harper Perennial edition
ISBN: 9780061840326
0061840327
Branch Call Number: FICTION Gwi
Description: 394, 16 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion


Featured Blogs and Events

If You Like The Help by Kathryn Stockett

In Jackson, Mississippi, in 1962, there are lines that are not crossed. With the civil rights movement exploding all around them, three women start a movement of their own, forever changing a town and the way women - black and white, mothers and daughters - view one another. The Help The Help is a 2011 American period drama film. The film features an ensemble cast, including Jessica… (more)


From Library Staff

List - The Help
CRRLAdults Jun 08, 2018

Amid the oppressive heat of summer in 1963 in the small town of Millwood, the neglected Florence is constantly shuttled between her grandparents and their longtime black maid, Zenie, with whom she meets Zenie's niece, college student Eva Greene. When Eva begins selling burial insurance to pay for... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Chapel_Hill_KenMc Dec 22, 2014

This novel makes an interesting pairing with "The Help," a novel that has surfed a wave of success and is set in the same time and locale. Gwin does a better job of communicating the terror that many African Americans lived with in early 1960s Mississippi. In this novel, we again have a white female narrator--this time, a young girl. But unlike the protagonist of "The Help," she is powerless to effect any change, and in fact is complicit through a selective blindness to what is happening. She represents the willful blindness of an entire population that chose not to see the injustice that infused their daily lives.

t
teenlibrz
Sep 01, 2011

Like The Help

s
shelbygth
Dec 02, 2010

A very good read, unimaginable that this was actually happening in the USA while we were growing up in Canada!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

LibraryThing Series Information


  Loading...

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top