The Red Necklace

The Red Necklace

A Story Of The French Revolution

Paperback - 2009
Average Rating:
Rate this:
6
1
1
A mysterious gypsy boy, Yann Margoza, and his guardian, a dwarf, work for the magician Topolain in 1789. On the night of Topolain's death, Yann's life truly begins. That's when he meets Sido, an heiress with a horrible father. An attachment is born that will determine both their paths. Revolution is afoot in France, and Sido is being used as a pawn. Only Yann will dare to rescue her from a fearful villain named Count Kalliovski. It will take all of Yann's newly discovered talent to unravel the mysteries of Sido's past and his own and to fight the devilish count.
Publisher: New York : Speak, 2009
ISBN: 9780142414880
0142414883

Opinion

From Library Staff

Yann has barely escaped with his life after a gruesome murder happens during one of his shows. This event has tied him to Sido, the daughter of a horrible French aristocrat. He later has to return to France to save her, while trying to reveal the murderous doings of a French Count. Book match fo... Read More »

Also available as a Book Club Kit.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

a
ABenoit
Mar 24, 2014

I liked it. It was the perfect mix of romance and magic. Nice.

Look for the sequel: Silver Blade.
"With its reversals, surprises, scholarship and dramatic details of an era so soaked in blood that the Seine ran red, The Silver Blade is historical fiction at its height. No reader, old or young, could resist its passion, told in crystalline prose and peopled with characters as engaging as the dwarf Tetu, bear-like Didier and the venal Mr Tull. It is by far the best British book for children I have read this year.”— Amanda Craig, The Times

JCLBethanyT Mar 26, 2013

This tale of history interwoven with magic and romance will appeal to readers of Jennifer Donnelly and Carlos Ruiz Zafon. Gardner deftly pulls together elements of steampunk, revolution and gypsy lore, and creates a story impossible to put down. Don't forget about the sequel, The Silver Blade.

d
DeltaQueen50
Jun 15, 2012

The Red Necklace by Sally Gardner is a story that unfolds against the backdrop of the early days of the French Revolution. The story of two young people who meet on a fateful night, separate for a number of years, and then unite in a time of extreme danger.

Yann Margoza is a performer and he, along with his guardian the dwarf Tetu, and the magician Topolain are brought to the chateau of the Marquis de Villeduval to perform their magic act for his guests. Among the guests is the sinister Count Kalliovski. Like a puppet master, this evil count controls the strings of both people and events that unfold throughout the story. The Marquis has brought his daughter home from school at the request of the Count, although she is being kept practically a prisoner. The Marquis de Villeduval is a weak, greedy man who has mortgaged his estates to the hilt and borrowed money from the Count, he has no interest in his daughter, Sido, considering her flawed. Yann and Sido meet for the first time on this eventful night, and she helps him escape from the Count.

Although published in 2007, The Red Necklace has an old fashioned feel to it, as if it had been written for a previous generation. An adventure story laced with gypsy magic, a budding romance and a more than a few nasty secrets. The story builds to an exciting climax where Yann must save Sido from both the guillotine and the evil clutches of Count Kalliovski.

samdog123 Jun 28, 2010

Yann Margoza is part of a theatre group in 18th Century Paris. Specializing in powers learned from fellow gypsies, the performance attracts the attention of an evil Count. Yann meets Sido and love grows amongst the rise of the French revolution. They battle the evil Count as they strive to survive the turmoil of the revolution. Excellent historical fiction. There's a sequel too!

sher Nov 01, 2009

Teen book. Would make a great movie. It reminds me of a Dickens story, but set in France instead of England. It has all the elements of a great story without the coarseness, vulgarity and profanity of much of today's storytelling.

Age

Add Age Suitability

SallyReads Feb 16, 2011

SallyReads thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

whiteshadow13 Jan 30, 2012

In the late eighteenth-century, Sido, the twelve-year-old daughter of a self-indulgent marquis, and Yann, a fourteen-year-old Gypsy orphan raised to perform in a magic show, face a common enemy at the start of the French Revolution.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

LibraryThing Series Information


  Loading...

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top