Nobody's Princess

Nobody's Princess

Paperback - 2008
Average Rating:
Rate this:
13
1

Helen of Sparta wants to be more than a princess and a pretty face--she wants to be a hero.

The traditions of ancient Sparta would have Helen know her place: a beautiful princess, a loyal daughter, a perfect bride. But Helen wants adventure, and she's not looking back. Not one to count on the gods to take care of her, she sets out to see the world and seek her own fate with steely determination. Her rebellious will makes Helen dangerous enemies--such as the self-proclaimed "son of Zeus" Theseus--but it also gains her true friends, from the famed huntress Atalanta to the young priestess who is the Oracle of Delphi. If she is strong enough, if she is cunning enough, if she is brave enough, Helen will find her destiny . . . but what does destiny have in store for her?

In Nobody's Princess, author Esther Friesner deftly weaves together history and myth as she takes a new look at the girl who will become Helen of Troy. The back of the book includes further facts about Helen of Troy and Ancient Greece. Hand to readers who love Tamora Pierce and Leigh Bardugo, particularly if they just finished Wonder Woman: Warbringer and want to know more about Helen of Troy.


"A must-read for fans of fantasy and mythology."-- VOYA

"Along the way, Friesner skillfully exposes larger issues of women's rights, human bondage, and individual destiny. It's a rollicking good story."-- Booklist

Publisher: New York : Random House, 2008
ISBN: 9780375875298
0375875298

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

MaryCatherine8183 Apr 02, 2015

I feel in love with this book before I even finished the first chapter. For anyone who loves Greek Mythology, admires and strives for freedom and independence (particularly women, but not exclusively)

a
annabisetia
Jan 09, 2015

Wonderful take on Helen's story

m
Martke62
Aug 26, 2014

Such great writing. Also great for those wanting to learn more about Greek Mythology.

s
SophieNagyfej
Apr 05, 2014

I really like the ideas behind this story, but Helen really annoys me. I find her decisions shallow and stupid, and I don't see the purpose behind any of them. If you're looking for a character with more purpose, I'd recommend Sphinx's Princess and Sphinx's Queen. However, I do agree that this is worth reading if you like mythology and royalty intertwined.

Reader1girl Dec 26, 2013

This book was amazing and I cant wait to read the next book. I really recommend this book to any one who enjoys girls that are adventurous and don't take no for an answer.

l
liv210
Jun 04, 2013

Things you never thought about Helen of Sparta...

f
froggy7377
Aug 06, 2012

I loved this book!!! It gave me a whole new view of Helen. Rather than the self-centered princess with the face that caused a 10 year war we usually see, she's portrayed as a strong, independent girl who doesn't want to depend on her looks alone. I can't wait to read the next book, Nobody's Prize!

c
Charli3
Mar 04, 2012

how many pages is it? I just hope its not too long.

s
Spenilly
Oct 04, 2011

Great story, very quick read. Can't wait to read the second book.

g
geokitty
Aug 23, 2011

its good

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

a
annabisetia
Jan 09, 2015

annabisetia thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

LibraryThing Series Information


  Loading...

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top