Insane City

Insane City

Large Print - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
13
2
Astonished by his imminent marriage to a woman he believed out of his league, Seth flies to their destination wedding in Florida only to be swept up in a maelstrom of violence involving rioters, Russian gangsters, angry strippers, and a desperate python.
Publisher: Waterville, Maine : Wheeler Pub., 2013
Edition: Large print edition
ISBN: 9781410456083
1410456080
Branch Call Number: FICTION Bar
Description: 543 pages (large print) ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
m
mlv4079
Jan 26, 2019

Hilarious dialog...I laughed out loud several times! Fast paced story, very, very funny!

s
SusanJ_124
Nov 03, 2018

Juvenile, potty-humour level 'jokes' and the normalization of rape culture. I fail to see how people find this book funny or entertaining. I will be avoiding this author in the future.

b
book_it
Aug 14, 2016

A wedding is a big event, and planning one can be a real headache. But if your wedding's in Miami, the Insane City, you'd better pack some extra-strength aspirin. Dave Barry's novel is a hilarious race against time as our protagonist attempts to avoid ruining the big day in a city where the only law is Murphy's Law. He's already lost the ring, but now that he has to deal with a flirtatious orangutan, a real-life pirate battle, and a family of refugees, it seems hopeless. His heart is in the right place though, and you just can't help but cheer him on as tries to do the right thing even when everything else is going wrong.

b
burgundy_eagle_25
Jun 07, 2016

This is the best book I've ever read 👌

s
ShamaBole
Feb 04, 2016

I so wanted to like this because it's Dave Barry! But the plot and characters were so pedestrian and unlikeable. I tried a few chapters and gave up. Sigh.

m
Memawrayne
Mar 02, 2015

Funny story as expected from Dave Berry. Found myself giggling as I read certain parts. He has a way of making ordinary things become silly and he hits the nail on the head.

b
bookpusher
Jul 20, 2014

This is my second Dave Barry book (I didn't really enjoy the other one, but I gave him another chance)....this book was hysterical!! I laughed out loud a lot! Absolutely ridiculous storyline, and so fun!! Loved it!

s
soanil
Apr 09, 2014

Funny and enjoyable

Kraut01 Mar 23, 2014

This guy won a Pulitzer???? Inane drivel that wouldn't rate as a "B" grade screenplay. No challenger to Carl Hiassen.

k
kfunk_7
Jun 25, 2013

this is a nice, quick, mind-numbing read in the same vein as "the hangover" films reduce the brain to a sludge factory over a 2 hour time frame. the well-played out "bachelor party gone wrong where stereotypical ex-frat boy runs rampant to overcome ridiculous hurdles to marry the snotty rich girl" angle gets pretty old, though, after the first chapter. it was funny, for sure, but absolutely predictable and made me think the author studied the above-mentioned films for story lines and ideas to trump the over-the-top hijinx that occurs in the movies. recommend for a boring airline ride...

View All Comments

Summary

Add a Summary
t
teamfreak16
Jul 10, 2019

Although he cannot believe it, handsome, funny slacker Seth Weinstein is about to marry Tina Clark, daughter of a billionaire, and a highly successful lawyer in her own right, in Miami.

Seth and his buddies arrive in the crazy city for the bachelor party, get lost, end up getting incredibly drunk at a bar, and Seth passes out under the bar. When he comes to, his friends are gone, and his suitcase, containing Tina's extremely expensive, custom wedding ring, is missing. Duane, a nice, but intimidating dude with a huge python on his shoulders, offers to look for it, while his friend Cyndi, 4th runner up in that night's Miss Amateur Hot Bod contest, helps Seth get to his hotel, where a very large stripper awaits, and wants her money.

Looking for the ATM, Seth ends up on the beach, where he saves a Haitian immigrant and her two children from drowning.

Soon, Seth's suite is occupied by Cyndi, the Haitian family, the stripper, and her refrigerator-sized boyfriend/manager.

Duane locates the suitcase, but having gotten called to a work emergency, tells Seth where to find it, and he and Cyndi are off, sneaking away from the wedding rehearsal dinner.

In the meantime, there's a batch of highly potent medical marijuana-laced brownies, Seth's guys make it onto the local news after waking up in front of a hotel of ill repute - one naked, one without pants, and one without his wallet. Throw in an even richer billionaire, the kind of guy that can singlehandedly influence the entire stock market in 15 minutes just by picking up the phone, with the most serious case of the munchies, an amorous orangutan, and a pirate ship, and this is one funny book.

If you are in need of some laughs, you might want to check this one out. It's Dave Barry, after all. How can it not be funny?

AnneDromeda Apr 02, 2013

At this point, winter’s hung on long enough that most of us are past yeti jokes and fort building and are well into the kind of resigned stalwart ennui that fuels so much prairie CanLit. What better way to get away from the maddening drear than a comic romp through Miami?

Dave Barry’s Insane City is just the thing to chase away extended-winter blahs – a hilarious comedy of errors set in a city with no filter, taken to all the ridiculous extremes the author could think of in the name of laughs and adventure.

Seth Weinstein is your typical nice guy who can’t win. He went to college and did passably well, only to wind up living back in his parents’ basement tweeting PR pap for a living. When he meets gorgeous, sophisticated Tina Clark, he can’t believe his luck. He wastes no time proposing to the clever, socially conscious lawyer from a family of famous investors. Before he knows it, he and his lovable-loser friends from college arrive in Miami for the bachelor party before the beachside wedding.

Of course, nothing goes as planned. Before the night’s out, Seth’s lost the Groom Posse, an orangutan has Tina’s wedding ring, and a family of Haitian refugees are camping out in his suite at the wedding hotel. Tina, meanwhile, has gone full bridezilla, and refuses to tolerate Seth’s good-natured attempts to solve the problems. I won’t give away too much more other than to tell you the author employs some very well-timed special brownies and there’s a pirate battle.

Fans of Carl Hiaasen, Tom Cockey, or Bill Bryson’s more debauched material will find this book has everything they want from a winter escape novel. The characters are stock stereotypes, but that’s actually desirable in a slapstick plot this complicated. No psychology gets in the way of the laughs, and there are plenty of laugh-out-loud moments that will get you dubious looks on public transit or in bed next to your partner. (I snorted! Most unladylike.) It’s The Hangover for people who read, written by a Pulitzer Prize winner. Winter, consider yourself pwned.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

LibraryThing Series Information


  Loading...

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top