Blackmoore

Blackmoore

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
6
Having decided she will never marry, Kate Worthington plans to escape her meddlesome family by travelling to India. Her mother agrees on the condition that she gets--and rejects--three marriage proposals. To fulfill her end of the bargain Kate travels to the manor of Blackmoore in northern England, where her plans go awry.
Publisher: Salt Lake City, Utah : Shadow Mountain, [2013]
ISBN: 9781609074609
1609074602
Branch Call Number: FICTION Don
Description: 286 pages ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
bibliosara Sep 05, 2019

As my first Julianne Donaldson book, I wasn't sure what to expect from Blackmoore. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the character depth and development, the beautiful depictions of setting, and the escalating tension in the story. A wonderful contemporary romance with a Gothic Regency style, Blackmoore tells the story of a Kate/Kitty, young woman fighting to free herself from the barriers of society, scandal, and her mother's expectations and behavior. Determined never to marry, she negotiates a deal with her mother that will allow her to accompany her aunt to India - and hopefully, never return to the constraints of her family's household again. But when things go against plan during her long-awaited visit to Blackmoore, her childhood friends' ancestral home, Kate will have to rediscover her dreams and find the strength she never knew she had.

m
Miller0111
Sep 15, 2016

Bestselling author Julianne Donaldson delivers another passionate Regency-era romance, full of sizzling tension and unconsummated love (earning it the term of a “proper” romance). Blackmoore is similar to her previous work (Edenbrooke) in that both feature strong heroines who travel to country estates and find love. Blackmoore stands out for its Brontë-like atmosphere and haunting landscapes. The windswept moors, ocean-battered cliffs, and dark and mysterious passages of Blackmoore are a perfect backdrop for a Gothic-inspired romance. Fans of Little Women and Northanger Abbey will enjoy the focus on the changing nature of friendship and importance of family connections.

g
greend11
Aug 21, 2014

Enthralling and sweet. This book was a wonderful summer read.

n
ninigirl
Aug 16, 2014

Loved this book. Could not put it down. It was such a beautiful story. Made me smile. Very relaxing.

d
dinyun
Nov 23, 2013

Wow,I can't agree with above comment I thought it was worth the read,couldn't put it down.I recommend it

j
jls1512
Oct 29, 2013

LOVED every moment of this story! The sweetness of the love between its main characters was achingly beautiful. Sometimes I would have to put it down for a few minutes to get my breath back!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

LibraryThing Series Information


  Loading...

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top