The Last Jew of Treblinka

The Last Jew of Treblinka

A Survivor's Memory 1942-1943

eBook - 2011
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Why do some live while so many others perish? Tiny children, old men, beautiful girls; in the gas chambers of Treblinka, all are equal. The Nazis kept the fires of Treblinka burning night and day, a central cog in the wheel of the Final Solution. There was no pretense of work here like in Auschwitz or Birkenau, only a train platform and a road covered with sand. A road that led only to death. But not for the author, a young man who survived working as a "barber" and "dentist," heartsick with witnessing atrocity after atrocity. Yet he managed to survive so that somehow he could tell the world what he had seen. How he found the dress of his little sister abandoned in the woods. How he was forced to extract gold teeth from the corpses. How every night he had to cover the body pits with sand. How every morning the blood of thousands still rose to the surface. Many have courageously told their stories, and in the tradition of Elie Wiesel's "Night" and Primo Levi's "Survival at Auschwitz" and "The Drowned and the Saved," the author provides the only survivor's record of Treblinka. Originally written in Yiddish in 1945 without hope or agenda other than to bear witness, this tale shows that sometimes the bravest and most painful act of all is to remember.
Publisher: New York : Pegasus Books, 2011
ISBN: 9781453249253
Branch Call Number: 940.5318 Ra
Characteristics: 1 online resource (xx, 138 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates) : illustrations, maps, portraits
Additional Contributors: Beinfeld, Solon 1934-
Freading (Firm)

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

g
glennside
Aug 17, 2017

This story will stay with you long after you finish this book. It is amazing that anyone survived the horrors that the author lived through at this camp.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

LibraryThing Series Information


  Loading...

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top