Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea

Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea

Paperback - 2014
Average Rating:
11
1
Rate this:
Publisher: New York : Speak, 2014
ISBN: 9780142423219
0142423211

Opinion

From Library Staff

An eerie tale of a house guest in a house on a forlorn coast in Maine who just may be causing strange events.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Chapel_Hill_RuthL Feb 19, 2015

What if you thought were falling in love with the Devil? April Genevieve Tucholk’s new novel offers up a tantalizing story where the closer you get, the harder it is to tell what’s true. Violet White lives in a crumbling mansion with her brother and the warnings of her grandmother to always beware of the Devil. Warnings that make a lot more sense when River West comes to rent her guesthouse and eerie things begin to happen all around town. Violet is caught between the wonderful feelings that River brings her and the feeling that he is much more than he claims. Tucholke’s novel is an intriguing blend of gothic circumstances and modern characters. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea tastes of violence, sex and the age-old dilemma of what to do when the boy you want is the last one you should have.

kirstd31 Jan 28, 2015

Great Gatsby and a gothic thriller all in one. Violet and her twin brother live all alone in a giant mansion on the side of the cliffs. Life starts to become interesting when a handsome stranger decides to rent their guest house.

s
stceceilia
Nov 29, 2014

It starts of a bit slow, but you will be glad you made the effort when you get into it. Violet is a very interesting character, I like the fact that she doesn't turn into a drooling idiot the moment a pretty boy turns up. She is sensible and knows her own mind. Another thing I liked about this book was it was well paced and had an interesting plot line, the end was wrapped up nicely but still leaves you wanting more. When I had this book in my hands all I wanted to do was read and read and read. It was just so good I never wanted to put it down, and when I got to the end I was sad it had ended. When I found out there was another book, I tracked it down and read it. If you haven't yet read it, please go and read it now, I promise you won't be disappointed. It was easily one of my favourite books that I've read this year.

s
Sansha
Oct 26, 2014

Young adult novel. Took me a while to get into the book but once I did, I couldn't put it down. Very scary. Violet rents out the cottage to River who has a certain charm, but also the ability to make people do terrible things. Violet finds herself drawn to River even though she realizes he is very dangerous. When River's step-brother turns up, the situation goes from bad to worse.

JCLChrisK Sep 30, 2014

I'm going to give this a three-star rating because it's well-written, effective at what it aims to be, and will appeal to its intended audience, and because my honest reaction to it is not based on reading it in a pure vacuum but my mounting response to its type of book. So, three stars, and if the description tempts you I'm guessing you'll like it a good deal.

a
AnonHipLib
Sep 25, 2014

This book really shook me up. I loved it. The gothic atmospheric feel of it was haunting. The characters were compelling and complex, the storyline kept moving at a good pace and the darkness of it all was gorgeous.

e
emilyswartzer
Jun 11, 2014

A new Favorite!

alevesque Mar 20, 2014

April sure knows how to make a story interesting, with all those twist and turns. The ending really came quick and nasty scary though. I guess it was her way of making us impatient for the release of the sequel.

a
artemishi
Oct 19, 2013

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea, aside from having a gorgeous title font (seriously...I swoon), is pretty original.
It's a gothic horror, in that crumbling-old-houses-and-secrets way. But it's also got a unique voice in Violet, who is intelligent but self-indulgent, patient but with occasional violent thoughts, and whose daredevil curiosity leads to some horrific things.

It's honestly difficult to say more about it without giving things away. So I'll say this:
Violet is an amazing, if not entirely likable or relatable, character.
And portraying some characters as both murderously wicked and responsibly compassionate, in a realistic and believable way, is utter genius.
I read this book in three days, so compelled was I to figure out what was going on and whom to trust.

I highly recommend it to fans of magical realism, mystery, gothic novels, those who like contemporary with a touch of supernatural, folks who are tired of repeated YA tropes about independence/adulthood/romance/etc, and people who enjoy getting a poetic imagery of place.

JCLBethanyT Aug 28, 2013

This was young adult horror of the finest order. Truly spooky with a heavy element of the Gothic, this novel will appeal to fans of Christopher Pike and Franny Billingsley.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

MonsterGirl94 Nov 11, 2014

MonsterGirl94 thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

LibraryThing Series Information


  Loading...

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top