The Inventor's Secret

The Inventor's Secret

Paperback - 2015
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
 A new steampunk series from Andrea Cremer, the New York Times bestselling author of the Nightshade novels

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners , Cassandra Clare's Clockwork Angel, Scott Westerfeld's Leviathan and Phillip Reeve's Mortal Engines.

In this world, sixteen-year-old Charlotte and her fellow refugees have scraped out an existence on the edge of Britain's industrial empire. Though they live by the skin of their teeth, they have their health (at least when they can find enough food and avoid the Imperial Labor Gatherers) and each other. When a new exile with no memory of his escape  or even his own name seeks shelter in their camp he brings new dangers with him and secrets about the terrible future that awaits all those who have struggled has to live free of the bonds of the empire's Machineworks.

 

Publisher: New York : Speak, 2015
ISBN: 9780147514387
014751438X

Opinion

From Library Staff

Imagine a world where steam powers everything, and America lost the Revolution--but they aren't done fighting for their freedom. Part of a series.

America lost its revolution, but patriotism is not dead. Charlotte and her fellow rebels continue to fight for freedom, but will a newcomer with no memory threaten everything they hope to accomplish? Technology: Steampunk

Pair with "Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell" by Susanna Clarke for an alternate history with magic, all wrapped up in the gear filled realities of Steampunk.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

f
FearfulSymmetry
May 27, 2015

I wasn't really impressed. This was mostly just a bunch of familiar themes thrown together: steampunk, woman who falls in love, love triangle, etc. I sort of want to keep reading but I feel it isn't worth it. There wasn't really an end to this book, so even though it's apparently a series, I don't think I'll continue.

k
Kyanite
Jun 28, 2014

Not bad. The characters and premise are interesting enough that I'll be continuing with the series.

ChristchurchLib Jun 02, 2014

"It's 1816 in America, and though the British won the Revolutionary War, the rebellion continues. Charlotte and her fellow teenage resistance fighters live in the wilderness just outside the Floating City of New York, where they dodge fearsome Imperial machines and shelter refugees. One refugee, a mysterious boy with no memories, inspires Charlotte to abandon their hiding place and brazenly infiltrate the enemy stronghold in search of answers. Steampunk technology and a tantalising love triangle add intrigue to this imaginative, alternate-history series opener from the author of the bestselling Nightshade books." Teen Scene June 2014 newsletter http://www.libraryaware.com/996/NewsletterIssues/ViewIssue/7b566aed-1e9e-4c94-a7d6-47b0da5d5ef2?postId=cdea2c98-6cc1-4765-8ee6-f42ef293d52f

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Related Authors

Recommendations

Subject Headings

LibraryThing Series Information


  Loading...

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top