Joan Williams' Uncollected Pieces

eBook - 2015
Rate this:
Remembering: Joan Williams' Uncollected Pieces illustrates again that rediscovering an admired author, especially through his or her later works, is every bit as engaging as discovering a new literary voice. Joan Williams, an accomplished and prize-winning southern novelist, published a number of short stories and nonfiction pieces in the later years of her life; a life complicated early on by the influential men with whom she was involved, namely American author William Faulkner and independent publisher Seymour Lawrence. For years these literary gems were scattered and virtually unattainable to readers. Remembering: Joan Williams' Uncollected Pieces unites the formerly published but never collected material. The book's title piece, "Remembering," features a 1981 essay on Byronic Mississippi-born poet, Frank Stanford, known to Joan from his infancy until his tragic suicide, whose collected poems What About This (2015) appeared thirty-seven years posthumously. Skillful, nuanced, and altogether approachable, these mature efforts by a seasoned writer will surprise and reward. Remembering is a lovely testament to the craft of writing and Joan Williams' indelible style.
Publisher: [New York] : Open Road Distribution, 2015
Copyright Date: 015
ISBN: 9781504028134
Branch Call Number: FICTION Wil
Description: 1 online resource (105 pages)
Additional Contributors: Hickman, Lisa C. 1959-
Freading (Firm)


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings

LibraryThing Series Information


Find it at CRRL

To Top