The Great American Whatever

The Great American Whatever

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
9
Rate this:
Quinn Roberts' only worry used to be writing convincing dialogue for the movies he made with his sister Annabeth. Of course, that was before the car accident that changed everything. Enter Geoff, Quinn's best friend who insists it's time that Quinn came out-- at least from hibernation. Geoff drags Quinn to a party where he meets a guy-- okay, a hot guy-- and falls, hard. And Quinn begins imagining his future as a screenplay that might actually have a happily-ever-after ending-- if he can finally step back into the starring role of his own life story.
Publisher: New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2016
ISBN: 9781481404099
1481404091
9781481404105
1481404105
Branch Call Number: FICTION Fed
Characteristics: 278 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
brangwinn
Dec 11, 2016

A coming of age story with a main character I either wanted to hug or strangle. Quinn was a very believable teenager, with a few more problems than most teens have, including a father who walked out on his mom and a sister who was killed in an auto accident.

AL_ALYX Sep 14, 2016

While Quinn goes through some pretty tough stuff after his sister dies, this book also made me laugh out loud. Quinn felt so real. Also, check out the audiobook - Federle does an awesome job narrating.

LPL_WilliamO Jul 28, 2016

This is a fantastic story about coming to terms with loss, believing in friendship and discovering self. Quinn may be a smart aleck, but he warms up quickly and you'll care about his journey. One of the best YA reads this year!

a
Ange_X
Jul 27, 2016

Filled with heart clenching moments and some sarcastic humour, this was an excellent read about friendship, love, and overcoming loss. It was brutally honest, leaving no filter on the guilt and devastation that the main character faced. Furthermore, the many comparisons between the ideal, screenplay version of events versus the reality shows many facets of Quinn-the first person voice-emphasizing raw emotions in an engaging manner. This book will definitely not disappoint.

LibrarianDest Jun 21, 2016

Fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell, and David Levithan look no further. This is for you. And if you liked Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda YOU MUST READ [OR LISTEN TO] THIS.

bibliotechnocrat Jun 12, 2016

This terrific book covers a few weeks in the life of Quinn, a gay teen with a habit of seeing his life as a screenplay. What really makes this novel sing is the voice of the main character; the first person narration gives it great immediacy - as if Quinn is just blurting out the unfiltered events to you, the reader/therapist. By turns amusing and sad, the author has captured the intensity of the teen experience at the moment the main character begins to learn how to live. Well worth your time.

Tim Federle has now cemented himself in my list of favorite authors. His characters are so lovable and genuine, I am 100% all in. I love how "The Great American Whatever" celebrates film just as much as I love how "Better Nate Than Ever" celebrates musical theater. Love, love, love it.

LPL_MiriamW May 05, 2016

An engaging story of loss, friendship, and filmmaking. When his sister is killed in a car accident Quinn cuts himself off from everything: friends, school, and even screenwriting (something he’s lived for ever since he was little). Now after several months his friend Geoff is determined to pull him back out into the world and bring him back to life. Movie fans will enjoy the way Quinn’s imagination has an unfailingly cinematic bent as he daydreams the screenplay of his own life. Plus his constant references to famous movies (some with, some without his recommendation) will have them checking their own library for any classics they’ve missed.

Chapel_Hill_StephenA Feb 18, 2016

I'm not sure there's any genre Tim Federle can't write. Picture books? Check. Middle grade? Check. Literary cocktail recipe books? Check. The Great American Whatever is his first foray into YA and, unsurprisingly, it's awesome. It's impossible to not like snarky, sullen Quinn. Federle's exploration of grief and depression is unnervingly honest and heartbreaking but ultimately uplifting. This is one of the best coming of age stories I've read in a long time.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

LibraryThing Series Information


  Loading...

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top