Defending Taylor

Defending Taylor

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
There are no mistakes in love. Captain of the soccer team, president of the Debate Club, contender for valedictorian: Taylor's always pushed herself to be perfect. After all, that's what is expected of a senator's daughter. But one impulsive decision-one lie to cover for her boyfriend-and Taylor's kicked out of private school. Everything she's worked so hard for is gone, and now she's starting over at Hundred Oaks High. Soccer has always been Taylor's escape from the pressures of school and family, but it's hard to fit in and play on a team that used to be her rival. The only person who seems to understand all that she's going through is her older brother's best friend, Ezra. Taylor's had a crush on him for as long as she can remember. But it's hard to trust after having been betrayed. Will Taylor repeat her past mistakes or can she score a fresh start?
Publisher: [Place of publication not identified] : Sourcebooks, [2016]
ISBN: 9781492630098
Branch Call Number: FICTION Ken
Characteristics: 1 online resource (304 pages)
Additional Contributors: Freading (Firm)

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

cmlibrary_khunter Feb 22, 2017

When Taylor Lukens makes one mistake that gets her kicked out of her private school and forced to go to the local high school, everything she’s worked for has been destroyed. She was on track to be valedictorian, soccer team captain, president of the debate team…but when she’s accused of taking drugs, not only her reputation is ruined but also that of her senator father who is running for re-election. As Taylor faces pressure at her new school, she also feels like her family is against her. The only one she feels like she might be able to trust is her older brother’s best friend, Ezra, but he’s also betrayed her in the past…

This wasn't my favorite of Kenneally's books, but I did like how despite everything falling apart for Taylor and everyone believing the worst in her (except Ezra), that she still displayed a good sense of right/wrong and behaved true to character.

b
bookycakes
Aug 09, 2016

Well, this was my very first Miranda Kenneally books, and I wasn’t disappointed! I had a lot of fun with this one, and I think it helped that I was in the mood for a light contemporary read. This felt like it was in the vein of First & Then– hometown sports, a little bit of conflict, but ultimately a romance taking center stage. I will have to say that I didn’t really like Taylor. I couldn’t relate to her for the most part, and though I understood her reasoning, I thought it was ridiculous the way she acted on her reasoning. But I loved Ezra, and thought that the conflict was just enough to make it- well, a novel- but not enough to make this what you might call a ‘serious read.’ The forgiveness came quickly (maybe even too quickly?) and so did the happiness. I don’t have much to say about this one other than it was an easy, fun read, perfect for a weekend or beach outing. Four stars, overall, because I didn’t really connect with the characters as well as I have with other books like this.

** Cupcake match to this book on my website (link in profile!)

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

LibraryThing Series Information


  Loading...

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top