The Girls

The Girls

A Novel

Downloadable Audiobook - 2016
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong--this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides' The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Goon Squad. Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged--a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence. Emma Cline's remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction.Advance praise for The Girls "The Girls is a brilliant and intensely consuming novel--imposing not just for a writer so young, but for any writer, any time."--Richard Ford "Emma Cline has an unparalleled eye for the intricacies of girlhood, turning the stuff of myth into something altogether more intimate. She reminds us that behind so many of our culture's fables exists a girl: unseen, unheard, angry. This book will break your heart and blow your mind."--Lena Dunham "Emma Cline's first novel positively hums with fresh, startling, luminous prose. The Girls announces the arrival of a thrilling new voice in American fiction."--Jennifer Egan "I don't know which is more amazing, Emma Cline's understanding of human beings or her mastery of language."--Mark Haddon, New York Times bestselling author of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-TimeFrom the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: New York : Random House Audio, 2016
Edition: Unabridged
ISBN: 9780147524003
0147524008
Branch Call Number: FICTION Cli
Description: 1 online resource (1 sound file (9 hr., 45 min.)) : digital
Additional Contributors: McClain, Cady 1969-
OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
therhiannamater
Mar 20, 2017

I guess technically 3.5. The premise was definitely something I was exciting for with my macabre fascination of cults and such. But this really felt like for the first 80% of the book, nothing really happened. The main character wasn't interesting at all and I kept waiting for her big character arc that never really came. I wanted this to be much darker I suppose. I was waiting for the tipping point of "oh here we go..." of the sick thrill ride, but it was like riding a roller coaster that only goes the speed limit. The last half of the book was definitely better than the first, but I was also listening the audiobook so I felt like I just had to finish it. Had I been reading the physical copy, I likely would've sent it to the graveyard stack of books that are 20% finished.

d
dutcheja
Sep 03, 2016

I eagerly waited for this book to come out. I have been intrigued by the Manson stories for a very long time and have read just about everything there is out there on the crimes, Charles Manson and the Manson followers. Unfortunately this book didn't work for me. I had a very hard time getting in to it, I thought it moved very slow and I just couldn't connect with the characters. The story switches back and forth between back then and now and that didn't work for me either.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

LibraryThing Series Information


  Loading...

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top