The Famished Road

The Famished Road

A Novel

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
Winner of the Man Booker Prize: "Okri shares with García Márquez a vision of the world as one of infinite possibility. . . . A masterpiece" ( The Boston Sunday Globe ). Azaro is a spirit child, an abiku, existing, according to the African tradition, between life and death. Born into the human world, he must experience its joys and tragedies. His spirit companions come to him often, hounding him to leave his mortal world and join them in their idyllic one. Azaro foresees a trying life ahead, but he is born smiling. This is his story. When President Bill Clinton first went to Africa he quoted from The Famished Road , which has inspired literature, art, politics, and pop songs -- and even been referenced in an episode of The Simpsons . A transformative story for all ages and all times, it means many things to many people. Few contemporary novels have aroused as much passion as this one. Indeed, twenty-five years after its breakout publication, the iconic story of Azaro's travels continues to mesmerize new generations. For readers of Things Fall Apart or One Hundred Years of Solitude , this Man Booker Prize-winning blend of fabulism and gritty realism by the Nigerian author of Astonishing the Gods and Dangerous Love is a "dazzling, hypnotic" journey through Africa that "weaves the humblest detail with the most extravagant flight of fancy to create an astonishing fictional tapestry" ( San Francisco Chronicle ).
Publisher: [Place of publication not identified] : Open Road Media, [2016]
ISBN: 9781504040204
Branch Call Number: FICTION Okr
Description: 1 online resource (504 pages)
Additional Contributors: Freading (Firm)

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
Reclak
Jan 30, 2016

And now we have Marlon James with "A Brief History of Seven Killings". Also has elements of magical realism. The subject centers on the intersection of political upheaval in Jamaica and the outside influence of a cultural icon, one who's vision clashes with the power structures of his day and time. James won the Man Booker prize for this novel in 2015.

k
kityojames
Sep 08, 2015

Painstakingly descriptive, with a strong surreal magical realism. This is one of the most elaborate novels I have seen coming from Africa, with an elaborate prose.

j
jadavies
Apr 15, 2011

This is not an easy book to read, but, it is a magnificent one. It is full of complex topics, beautiful prose, hope, despair, and rich characters. Read it slowly, then put it down for a while, or read it if you can in one go. But, do read it. It is so worth it.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

LibraryThing Series Information


  Loading...

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top