The Last Star

The Last Star

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
14
4
2
 …
Rate this:
Following the major motion picture release starring Chloë Grace Moretz, the heart-stopping finale to the New York Times bestselling 5th Wave series The enemy is Other. The enemy is us. They're down here, they're up there, they're nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us. But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves. In these last days, Earth's remaining survivors will need to decide what's more important: saving themselves . . . or saving what makes us human. From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: [S.I.] : Penguin Young Readers Group, 2016
ISBN: 9781101599044
1101599049
Branch Call Number: FICTION Yan
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

a
amylee290
Jul 28, 2017

I never knew so much action could be so boring. So much senseless babble. Could have left out 100 pages and not missed any of the story. Way too hard to follow and switched characters way too often. The 1st one was awesome! 2nd was okay. 3rd, waste of my time.
Don't personally appreciate the insulting God the entire book either. BORING. Drug out.

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Mar 17, 2017

***SPOILERS***
What on Earth even happened? I swear, this author took killing people way too far in the series/trilogy. So at first, he put together a pair that couldn't ever fall in love. Okay, so he made all the readers ship them. Then boom, one character dies. So while we are all recovering, he brings him back to life again (yay!!), but then once again, kills him off. Guess what? He is actually alive again! Then he shifts the focus onto two different people, and kills off another one of the two after he made us fall in love with them. This book was just an ending, not dramatic at all. And guess who he kills off this time? The plot moved pretty quickly, I guess. Way too heartless... 3/5 stars
- @Siri of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

The Last Star is the captivating conclusion to The 5th Wave series. The story continues from where The Infinite Sea leaves off, trailing the struggle of characters as they try to prevent the alien enemy from annihilating the existence of humans and civilization. Like the two previous books, The Last Star is told from multiple perspectives, all written quite well; the point of view of minor characters is just as entertaining to read as of the main characters. Overall, the book is very satisfying as it fills in all the missing pieces. The action and suspense builds up with the right pace, never letting the reader feel tired or bored. Finally, the ending of the story is perfect and powerful; it reinforces the promise of life and triumph of humanity against all opposing forces. For readers of The 5th Wave and The Infinite Sea, it is a must to read this excelling finale! 5/5 Stars!
- @VirtueofReading of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

u
USS_Enterprise
Dec 01, 2016

Witness the complete and utter destruction of humanity in the final book of the 5th Wave series...almost. In The Last Star, Cassie Sullivan and her ever-smaller group of friends work together to repress the onslaught of the impending 5th Wave and uncover the secrets of the mysterious aliens called the Others. Superficially, I think this book could easily be classified as just another teen sci-fi, post-apocalyptic story. It contains more bad language and drama than an HBO show, a few unnecessary characters, and some subplots that are just left hanging. Though messy like its predecessors, unlike them The Last Star surprised me by having a deeper meaning. The first two books in the series really focus on the breakdown of civilization and the deterioration of human values. This one attempts to show that life can begin again even after going through the hardest of circumstances and seeks to uncover what defines people as human. After reading this book, I believe that Rick Yancey proved that real love, a love for others and for the greater good, conquers all.

AL_LESLEY Nov 09, 2016

I'd give this book 3 stars (same as The Infinite Sea) because though not bad, and a decent wrap-up to the series it still doesn't live up to The 5th Wave (which got 4 stars out of me). I like the characters and I think they grow throughout. I like that it's not gushy and too optimistic... but what kept me reading was the author's style once again. His characters are very introspective and often intelligently so (a trait not often found in YA) and much of his writing verges on poetic which I personally often found a joy to read.

e
Expectations
Oct 19, 2016

A good ending to the series. However the whole thing left me going, umm, what just happened?

s
shayshortt
Aug 30, 2016

Yancey divides the story into four sections, one for each of the remaining days before the next phase of attacks begins. He continues to utilize multiple perspectives, often shifting between voices at key moments, but striking a better balance than he achieved in The Infinite Sea. Cassie’s voice in The Last Star is snarkier, more on edge. Writing in her journal, she tries to use humour to diffuse the almost unbearable tension, but it only serves to highlight the desperateness of the situation. Evan has a plan to use the fact the Silencers are being called in to strike back at the Others, but Cassie worries about all the many unknowns that could derail the plan. So many of their assumptions have already been overturned, and their reunion with Ringer only serves to further emphasize that fact. Yancey’s imagination remains gritty and horrific. In terms of plot, this is a fairly strong conclusion that improves upon the scatteredness of The Infinite Sea, but the series struck enough sour notes along the way to leave me with mixed feelings.
Full review: https://shayshortt.com/2016/08/30/the-last-star/

p
PearlyBaker
Aug 27, 2016

I regret using Cliff's Notes in high school while we were busy making the 80's make the 60's look like the 50's. The 5th Wave had a strong start and premise but like many YA series it fell apart in the end. You never want to binge watch a TV series with my ex-wife/girlfriend because by the end of season two she wants every single character to die. I kind of understand her now and wish I would have saved my time and read the Cliff's Notes for this one. Surely Cliff would have even explained why the aliens were here because Rick sure as hell did not.

n
Nymeria23
Aug 11, 2016

After the Infinite Sea, I was holding my breath. I enjoyed it, but felt as if some of the content the author was trying to get across just went way over my head. I kind of was expecting the same in this book, thinking I would sort of enjoy the story but get lost in the writing.
I was totally wrong.
This book reminds me more of the first of the series.
Which made my heart sing.
Because I loved it so much.
OH my goodness, this book picks up after the deaths of Teacup and Poundcake/Grace. Ringer is coming to terms with the death of Razor and her newly enhanced body, Zombie is attempting to make a plan to find Ringer and Teacup in the caverns they had talked about, and Cassie is relearning how to be a big sister to her drastically different little brother, as well as finally determine her feelings for the enigma named Evan.
This is where the end of this horrifyingly enchanting story begins.
This is where the characters we've been watching make their final decisions; for themselves, for others, and for humanity.
This is the last stand of Ringer, Zombie, Nugget, Evan, Dumbo, and Cassie.
This is what we've been waiting for.

Great book, loved it, if you made it through the second book, I believe you'll love it too. I thought this was the best ending that could have happened given the circumstances so I don't hold anything against the author. Thought he did a pretty great job with it actually.
Anyways, happy reading, and grab hold of the tissue box before you begin cause you'll likely need it.

2
21221018293347
Aug 07, 2016

This is one of the most compelling series that I have read. Well put together, well written, characters you can relate to and cheer for. The stories are fast moving and entertaining. The books flow seamlessly into each other so it is important to read them in order. I like the ending. It may not be your happily ever after ending, but it is the ending that works best for what the family has worked for. I look forward to reading other books by this author.

n
nicolemguts
Aug 05, 2016

After reading this entire series Rick Yancey has become one of my favorite authors (next to J.K. Rowling). I loved the plot of the whole story and how he used different character's point of views. I found myself laughing out loud while reading all his books because you can relate to the characters so much. You literally don't really know what to expect while reading and that is what makes his books so good.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote

Fkwitz Feb 09, 2017

"Its not about the time.... Its what we do with it." - Cassiopeia

e
Expectations
Oct 19, 2016

"Really, science is wonderful, but why does it tend to suck all the joyous mystery from the world? Love may be nothing more than a complex interaction of hormones, conditioned behavior, and positive reinforcement, but try writing a poem or song about that." p. 185

s
shayshortt
Aug 30, 2016

No one is ever going to read this. By the time I’m gone, there won’t be anyone left who can read. So this isn’t for you, future reader who won’t exist. It’s for me.

b
BookReadingJunkie
Jul 08, 2016

"Forgiveness is not born out of innocence or ignorance. Forgiveness is born of love." E.W. p. 335

Age

Add Age Suitability

u
USS_Enterprise
Dec 01, 2016

USS_Enterprise thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

b
black_pony_62
Oct 08, 2016

black_pony_62 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

s
shayshortt
Aug 30, 2016

Humanity has been devastated by wave after wave of attacks from the Others, disembodied aliens who have come to…well no one really knows what their goals are. Why would a disembodied consciousness need a planet? But Evan Walker—part human, part alien Silencer—knows that in four days, on the spring equinox, the Silencers will be called home to the mother ship, and the next wave of destruction will begin. The remaining survivors, Cassie, Sam, Zombie, Ringer, and Megan are almost out of time.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors

Recommendations

Subject Headings

LibraryThing Series Information


  Loading...

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top