The Jane Austen Project

The Jane Austen Project

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
6
Rate this:
"Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Harper Perennial, 2017
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780062651259
0062651250
9780062651266
Branch Call Number: FICTION Fly
Description: 373 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

d
dreams_in_blue
Oct 10, 2017

Wish this would have been written better. From the over convoluted sentences, to the characters who didn't really have much of a depth, plus the fact of that 'ending' yeah, I'm not impressed. I was excited to read it but unfortunately it ended up in the "meh" pile.

s
Ssaaddy
Oct 01, 2017

Thiught this book would be more literary than it was. Started not too bad but then turned into chick lit and eventually more sex than lit and went off the rails after that. Cannot recommend it.

m
miraellie
Sep 01, 2017

Pretty awesome wish-fulfillment with bonus focus on social justice issues. The science and world-building doesn't entirely hold up at times, but I appreciate that there was some thought put into it, instead of just handwaving it as some time-traveling books do. I did enjoy how Rachel had to win over Jane Austen and they didn't just become immediate best friends forever. Minus points for there being jokes that a rude servant is possibly gay, and for a somewhat anticlimatic ending.

c
coroboreefarm
Jul 24, 2017

Time travel and Jane Austen...the perfect summer read. I thoroughly enjoyed this unique look at the life and times of Jane Austen as viewed from the perspective of two time travelers from a distant future. Mysteries regarding Jane's fatal illness and an unpublished novel add to the plot and heighten the suspense as the time travelers race against precious time to the closure of the portal they passed through to enter Regency England. Difficult choices about whether to change history or not must be made. This is an interesting and unusual sci-fi take on the Jane Austen story, and should please lovers of her work and times.

debwalker May 31, 2017

Fun Austen read for the summer - time travel back to Jane world!

m
marthabwaters
May 21, 2017

​The fun thing about time travel books is that I think they do a much better job at conveying the total strangeness of the past than a lot of historical fiction does, because the setting is portrayed through the eyes of a person not of that era. This is clearly quite well-researched, with a lot of period detail that I really appreciated. Flynn also clearly knows her Austen, and it was interesting to see her take on her life. I thought the sci-fi elements of the time travel itself could have been more well-developed, and the romantic subplot could have felt less -- I dunno... obligatory? But I'd certainly recommend this to Jane Austen fans who haven't yet wearied of the 5,000 or so literary tributes to her. It's a fun read.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

LibraryThing Series Information


  Loading...

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top