Beach House for Rent

Beach House for Rent

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:
Cara Rutledge inherited her mother Lovie's beach house on Isle of Palms. She rents the house for the summer to Heather, who suffers from extreme social anxiety. Heather plans to send the summer painting shore birds, for a postage stamps commission. When Cara suffers a life changing tragedy, she wishes only to return to the beach house that had once been per port amid life's storms. The two start out as strangers, but together they rediscover their unique strengths.
Publisher: New York : Gallery Books, 2017
Edition: First Gallery Books hardcover edition
ISBN: 9781501125461
150112546X
9781501125522
1501125524
9781501125515
Branch Call Number: FICTION Mon
Characteristics: 408 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

a
AnneCarolineDrake
Nov 04, 2017

Disappointing sequel to The Beach House.

1
1_Great_Book
Sep 28, 2017

I have been picking up this author's works as they come out, and I am not disappointed.
The character Heather Wyatt is very well developed; that of Cara Rutledge, owner of the said beach house, skips and she is left more in the background, making occasional appearances. That said, I had a very satisfying tour to the lowcountry once again. The themes of agoraphobia and grief and battling against them are well done.

p
pp47
Aug 01, 2017

As always a great read one of the best books I have read this yr, hope for a sequel, possibly with Cara. Such beautiful writing style with her love of animals and the sea, postage stamps was such an original theme, I never realized they were done by artists

c
caj1222204441801
Jul 19, 2017

This author does not disappoint. Her character are so real and entertaining. I have read all of her books and absolutely highly recommend.

s
SaturdayLibrarian
Jun 28, 2017

Fans of Sarah Addison Allen or Karen White, will delight in Beach House for Rent by Mary Alice Monroe. A finely crafted story of love, fear, friendship and the courage to begin again. A great summer read!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors

Recommendations

Subject Headings

LibraryThing Series Information


  Loading...

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top