The Glass Spare

The Glass Spare

Downloadable Audiobook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
The first in a new fantasy duology, The Glass Spare is a gorgeously told tale of love, loss, and deadly power from Lauren DeStefano, the bestselling author of the Chemical Garden series. Perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Renee Ahdieh. Wilhelmina Heidle, the fourth child and only daughter of the king of the world's wealthiest nation, has grown up in the shadows. Kept hidden from the world in order to serve as a spy for her father--whose obsession with building his empire is causing a war--Wil wants nothing more than to explore the world beyond her kingdom, if only her father would give her the chance.Until one night Wil is attacked, and she discovers a dangerous secret. Her touch turns people into gemstone. At first Wil is horrified--but as she tests its limits, she's drawn more and more to the strange and volatile ability. When it leads to tragedy, though, Wil is forced to face the destructive power within her and finally leave her home to seek the truth and a cure.But finding the key to her redemption puts her in the path of a cursed prince who has his own ideas for what to do with Wil's power.With a world on the brink of war and a power of ultimate destruction, can Wil find a way to help the kingdom that's turned its back on her, or will she betray her past and her family forever?
Publisher: [New York] : Balzer + Bray, 2017
Edition: Unabridged
ISBN: 9780062689153
Branch Call Number: FICTION DeS
Description: 1 online resource (1 sound file (09 hr., 44 min., 09 sec.)) : digital
Additional Contributors: Fulford-Brown, Billie
OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
SolvayGirl
Apr 12, 2018

This is an imaginative and out of the ordinary YA fantasy that, thankfully, does not devolve into a sappy romance. The world-building is good—though it contains a confusing meld of technology and primitive conditions that don't get explained as well as I'd like. The prose is a few notches above the norm for this fare—a big plus. The ending was satisfying enough—not an anger-inducing cliffhanger, but certainly not a stand-alone resolution. Overall I enjoyed it and will read the next in the series when published.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

LibraryThing Series Information


  Loading...

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top