Becoming Brianna

Becoming Brianna

Book - 2020
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
4
Everyone knows how much brainy Bri likes the spotlight (not). So why did she ever agree to something that forces her to learn a new language, give a speech, help organize a party, and juggle drama at school and home?! As the big event inches closer, Bri wonders if it's all worth it. . . .Told in alternating past and present chapters, Bri's heartwarming story unfolds over the eight months leading up to her bat mitzvah--as well as over the course of the big day itself.
Publisher: New York, NY : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2020]
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780062894540
0062894544
9780062894533
0062894536
9780063026643
0063026643
Branch Call Number: 741.5973 Li
Description: 313 pages : chiefly color illustrations ; 21 cm
Audience: Ages 8-12

Opinion

From Library Staff

Everyone knows how much brainy Bri likes the spotlight (not). So why did she ever agree to something that forces her to learn a new language, give a speech, help organize a party, and juggle drama at school and home?! As the big event inches closer, Bri wonders if it’s all worth it. . .

Everyone knows how much brainy Bri likes the spotlight (not). So why did she ever agree to something that forces her to learn a new language, give a speech, help organize a party, and juggle drama at school and home?! As the big event inches closer, Bri wonders if it’s all worth it. . .


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
h
Hrowan86
Oct 15, 2020

Every book in this series is a treasure, and Becoming Brianna is no different! In this book, Briana is pushed sort-of unwillingly into her bat mitzvah by her mother. They're not practicing Jews, but the bat mitzvah is an important tradition that her mother sort of started in their family, and she wants to pass on. But maybe it's more about her memories than Brianna's experiences, because Bri is absolutely dreading being the center of attention. Cue montage of struggling at learning Hebrew and procrastinating about writing her speech. News of her bat mitzvah spreads at school, and all of a sudden friendships are on the line.

I enjoyed Bri figuring out how this whole bat mitzvah could have meaning for her, even without the faith aspect, and the friend drama felt very true to life. Watching shy kids find their courage always gives me life. This book definitely deserves a read if you've enjoyed other books in the series, love Raina Telgemeier's books, Shannon Hale's Best Friends, or just riding the confusing-as-all-get out wave that is middle school.

d
darladoodles
Sep 24, 2020

Both informative and entertaining, this new graphic novel from Terri Libenson takes the reader step by step through preparation for a bat mitzvah. Brianna agrees to participate despite not having gone to Hebrew school regularly. As you might imagine, doubts creep in as Brianna struggles through learning the Hebrew and writing her own speech. What I loved about this book aside from the inside look at this religious milestone, is the time Brianna spends discussing the Torah with her rabbi and struggling with questions of faith. She also realizes the value of being a part of a religious community and the support and encouragement you gain. Libenson's signature style alternates graphic panels with "notebook" chapters. I love the mix of styles and find her sketches remind me a bit of the 'Cathy' comic strip that I enjoyed for so many years. Includes a glossary in the end notes.

ArapahoeKati Sep 11, 2020

Another gem from this author, this time tackling friendship, courage and trying something new.

g
GraceP103
Jul 12, 2020

great book :D

OPL_KrisC Jul 08, 2020

A relatable story about friendship and confidence in a middle school setting. For fans of Victoria Jamieson and Raina Telgemeier.

Age

Add Age Suitability
g
GraceP103
Jul 12, 2020

GraceP103 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 9 and 15

OPL_KrisC Jul 08, 2020

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

s
Sgrover484
Jun 30, 2020

Sgrover484 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 8 and 13

r
red_baboon_1349
May 08, 2020

red_baboon_1349 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 10 and 13

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

LibraryThing Series Information


  Loading...

Find it at CRRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top