BPLNextBestAdults

I always forget how much I enjoy reading Ted Bell’s books, a series featuring the uber-rich young British lord and MI6 counterterrorism operative, Alex Hawke, until I dive into a new one. A killer is targeting the British royal family for assassination, starting years earlier with Charles's uncle, Lord Mountbatten. The author does a chilling job of lacing together the IRA killing of Lord Mountbatten, the great fire at Windsor Castle, the death of Lady Di and Dodi Fayed in the Paris tunnel and assorted Taliban bombings into a fun thriller. Thriller readers looking for a global romp with loads of patriotism and a smart take on modern-day terrorism will be rewarded! “A James Bondish adventure brought up to date... A meaty, entertaining thriller…just the thing for fans of Ludlum, Trevanian and Fleming.” (Kirkus Reviews)

BPLNextBestAdults's rating:
[]
[]
To Top